Begone the Raggedy Witches (#1 Wild Magic Trilogy)

Author(s): Celine Kiernan

Middle Fiction 8-12-year-olds

"Ireland's answer to JK Rowling." Sunday Independent A middle-grade fantasy adventure perfect for fans of Frances Hardinge and Katherine Rundell. When witches kidnap Mup's dad, she must journey to their home to save him, and so begins a fantastical adventure of rhyming crows, talking cats and outlawed magic. For Witches Borough is a dangerous place, ruled by a tyrannical queen and her band of raggedy witches.

Kathleen's Review - On the night Mup and her mother are driving home from the hospital where Aunty Boo is dying, Mup sees some raggedy witches bounding high through the trees. Before we know it, Mup's father has been kidnapped and taken into the faerie world, so Mum and Mup and little brother Tipper (oh yes - and Aunty Boo's ghost) must go to rescue him.


This has some fabulous magic in it, and some scary moments, with a great deal of adventure. Adults can appreciate the references to this world's dictatorships and controlling government regimes and the fear that oppressed people live under. And every reader can get thoroughly involved in Mup's story.


An excellent book!

$18.99(NZD)

Available Stock:
0
On Order:
3

Order this Item


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

[...] expect rhyming crows, talking cats and outlawed magic in Kiernan's first middle-grade fantasy adventure. Beautiful cover * The Bookseller *

Celine Kiernan is the critically acclaimed and multi-award-winning author of five novels for young people. Her ghost story, Into the Grey, was the first book to receive both the CBI Book of the Year Award and the CBI Children's Choice Award. She is best known for The Moorehawke Trilogy, which was shortlisted twice for the Irish Book Awards and was longlisted for the Australian Inkys Award. It has been translated into nine languages. The Wild Magic Trilogy is Celine's first series for middle-grade readers. She lives in Ireland. You can find her online at celinekiernan.wordpress.com and @Celine_Kiernan.

General Fields

  • : 9781406366020
  • : Walker Books Australia Pty, Limited
  • : Walker Books Australia
  • : 0.279
  • : September 2017
  • : 198mm X 129mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Celine Kiernan
  • : 288
  • : 823.92
  • : English
  • : 2018
  • : Paperback