A Good Idea

Author(s): Cristina Moracho

Teen Fiction

Can the right kind of boy get away with killing the wrong kind of girl?

Finley and Betty's close friendship survived Fin's ninth-grade move from their coastal Maine town to Manhattan. Calls, letters, and summer visits continued to bind them together, and in the fall of their senior year, they both applied to NYU, planning to reunite for good as roommates.
 
Then Betty disappears. Her ex-boyfriend Calder admits to drowning her, but his confession is thrown out, and soon the entire town believes he was coerced and Betty has simply run away. Fin knows the truth, and she returns to Williston for one final summer, determined to get justice for her friend, even if it means putting her loved ones--and herself--at risk.
 
But Williston is a town full of secrets, where a delicate framework holds everything together, and Fin is not the only one with an agenda. How much is she willing to damage to get her revenge and learn the truth about Betty's disappearance, which is more complicated than she ever imagined--and infinitely more devastating?

$23.00(NZD)

Available Stock:
0


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

A taut, dark thriller with literary chops and huge appeal - for fans of We Were Liars and Bone Gap.

"Sharp as a fistful of broken glass, dark and twisted as the woods at night, A Good Idea is rural noir at its creepy, literary best." --Laura Ruby, National Book Award Finalist and Printz-winning author of Bone Gap "A Good Idea is a dark, unsettling thriller--I couldn't put it down until its haunting end. All the feel of classic noir, twisted up for a new generation." --Amanda Panitch, author of Damage Done and Never Missing, Never Found "I read this book breathlessly. Moracho has crafted an irresistible page turner." --Kate Scelsa, author of Fans of the Impossible Life "A Good Idea is a harrowing and beautifully crafted thriller about how far we're willing to go for the people we love--whether or not they deserve it. Cristina Moracho has talent to burn." --Sarah McCarry, author of About a Girl "A chilling mystery set in the '90s that errs on the side of noir, this story will leave you captivated and intrigued." --Buzzfeed "Lushly evocative writing sets an atmospherically dark and foreboding tone from the start, and secrets are harbored by nearly every character . . . A discomfiting, gripping mystery with plenty of sharp edges." --Kirkus Reviews"A powerful look at moral gray areas and the fluidity of forgiveness. Moracho's characters are realistically and heartbreakingly flawed, and her fast-paced, windy narrative presents new wrinkles at every turn." --Publishers Weekly "Moracho's setting, a sleepy coastal town swathed in superstition and sea, shines. Edgy, atmospheric, and sometimes steamy, this is a thoughtful portrait of grief and an engaging examination of the risks we take for the ones we love." --Booklist "The writing is richly noir, and the characters are engaging. Teens who like mysteries, twisted and dark, and those who like secrets all around will enjoy this thriller." --VOYA "[A] subtle look into the dark places that minds, particularly those of teenagers on the brink of adulthood, can go and the different factors that can drive them there . . . Well-written." --School Library Journal Cristina Moracho's writing is "Standout." --Time Magazine "Gut-wrenching." --People "Mesmerizing." --Kirkus Reviews, starred review "Unforgettable." --Sarah McCarry, author of About a Girl "Painfully real."--School Library Journal, starred review "Penetratingly smart." --Jim Shepard, author of Project X and You Think That's Bad subtle look into the dark places that minds, particularly those of teenagers on the brink of adulthood, can go and the different factors that can drive them there. VERDICT While this title will appeal to mystery fans, its best audience will be older teens seeking a well-written

Cristina Moracho is the author of Althea & Oliver. She lives with her dog in Red Hook, Brooklyn. Find her on Twitter @cherielecrivain From the Hardcover edition.

General Fields

  • : 9780147517036
  • : Penguin Publishing Group
  • : Penguin Publishing Group
  • : February 2018
  • : 210mm X 140mm
  • : United States
  • : May 2018
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : 813.6
  • : English
  • : Paperback
  • : Cristina Moracho
  • : 384